A Review of Soci@l e-book: Learning Starts with the Introduction!

"We have an important decision to make: We can choose to let go of our old habits and embrace the new opportunities that social media and the Internet are presenting, or we can choose to do nothing. If you choose to do nothing, then please don’t expect the world to wait for you. The longer you wait to embrace this new realm, the harder it will be to catch up with your competition."

-----------Ben Kinney, Soci@l e-book, with Jay Papasan


I started reading the e-book Soci@l a week ago, and near the end of the introduction the above paragraph jumped out at me and hit me with its truth. The statistics are overwhelming, and you only need to look around to see how the younger generations act and behave in regards to social media and technology to see the change.

  • I learned a few years ago that my teenage granddaughter wasn't being rude by ignoring my phone messages. I needed to text her and she'd respond immediately - that's the normal way for her generation.
  • I watch her making Skype calls on her computer, with the camera turned on. Normal.
  • My younger clients set up conference calls on their cell phones. Normal.
  • Documents are scanned and emailed instead of being faxed. Normal.
  • People ask for and receive advice and referrals on Facebook, Twitter, blogs. Normal.
  • Photos are uploaded and shared with the world. Normal.

"embrace the new opportunities" is what is asked of us today and given to us today. New opportunities don't erase our core values and the principles we cherish, rather they allow us new avenues to expand. Instead of being afraid of change, why not think of change the way Dr. Pritchett does ----

"Change always comes bearing gifts."  ~Price Pritchett

Soci@l by written by Ben Kinney with Jay Papasan, helps us see the gift of change, and how to use it to enrich our lives and connect more effectively with others.

 

soci@l e-book

 

 

This blog post is a review of Soci@l: Attract Friends, Followers and Connections to Your Business. Soci@l is a free download written by Ben Kinney in conjunction with ActiveRain and Jay Papasan. In exchange for downloading the free copy of Soci@l and writing this review, I have a chance to win a free iPad and I'm getting 2000 ActiveRain points.

Download a free copy of Social here and find out how you can have a chance to win an iPad and be guaranteed 2000 ActiveRain points.

 

 

 

 

--- Come for a visit; Stay for a lifetime!

Lottie Kendall, Realtor®

Compass

CA DRE#10215160; 650-465-4547

Lottie@LottieKendall.com

LottieKendall.com

KendallRealtyAssociates.com

PeninsulaLiving

 

 

 

 

Comment balloon 38 commentsLottie Kendall • June 19 2010 03:53PM

Comments

Excellent post Lottie. I read another blog on here where someone referred to it as "getting on the technology bullet train" because things move so fast. You are exactly right, we better adapt or get out of the way. Have a great day.

Posted by Dan Benefield (Benefield Realty) over 10 years ago

Thanks, Dan. Things are moving fast, indeed, but isn't it all exciting? So many, many opportunities.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Lottie - Folks need to get on board the train - otherwise they will be left standing on the platform!

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty (Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area) over 10 years ago

Lottie - I live and breath your words daily.  Coming from a technology backgrounf of over 15 years befor stepping into Real Estate, I have been saying this daily to many Realtors, some of whom take these words seriously, and some say they don't have time.  I also am reading the Soci@l ebook and have found another great mind provoking thought that "smacked me on the side of my head"......"Learn to stick our heads out like a turtle.....Evolve and Thrive.......vs. remaining Constant and Extinct"...Thanks Lottie.

Posted by Susan Gaieski, Realtor & Social Marketing Media Trainer over 10 years ago

Hi Tony -- we here on Active Rain 'get it,' but there sure are a lot of folks who don't!

 

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Good morning Susan, it's amazing how much energy people spend resisting things. I look forward to reading your review of Soci@l.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

I have this struggle with my kids.  They text me.  I have told them they need to call. 

Posted by Gene Riemenschneider, Turning Houses into Homes (Home Point Real Estate) over 10 years ago

Hi Lottie - Great summary.  I am just starting the book so enjoyed the summary.

Posted by Margaret Mitchell, Seacoast Maine & NH Real Estate (Coldwell Banker Yorke Realty) over 10 years ago

Hi there, Gene. I've learned there are some battles not worth fighting. Actually, I thank my granddaughter for forcing me to become comfortable with texting--many of my clients prefer that method, too.

Margaret - nice to meet you here. Enjoy the book, and if you write a summary, I'll look forward to reading it.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Lottie: Great work and excellent topic.

Posted by Tom Waite, So Cal-Apartment Bldg Investments (Thomas Waite Real Estate Broker) over 10 years ago

Hi Tom -- isn't it great when you're hooked on a book before you hit Chapter 1? This is one of them.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Lottie

As we all know, change is the only constant. By just trying to keep up, we're already behind. At least we can converse intelligently with the new batch of home buyers and sellers who are well versed with social networking.

I know someone who insists the only way to be successful is by doing open houses, floor time, and door knocking. He is a technophobe who doesn't even know how to Google!

Posted by Pacita Dimacali, Alameda/Contra Costa Counties CA (Alain Pinel) over 10 years ago

My kids dragged me kicking and screaming into the world of technology - and now business is great!  :)

Posted by Virginia Hepp - Mesquite NV REALTOR, Mesquite NV Homes and Neighborhoods - Search MLS (Desert Gold Realty - Mesquite NV Homes For Sale) over 10 years ago

Hi Pacita -- I can only think it's fear that keeps people from embracing change. I figure we can just be examples of how exciting this can be.

Virgina - I had to chuckle when I read your note -- that's how I was with texting until I realized what a favor my teenage granddaughter did for me.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

I love reading the different reviews to read what stood out to each individual.  Excellent perspective.  I wish you much Soci@l Success!

Posted by Cara Marcelle Mancuso, Call a Marana neighbor, I'm THERE! LONG REALTY (Long Realty - Dove Mountain, Marana AZ) over 10 years ago

Hi Cara - it was a fun read, wasn't it? The chapter on effective blogging was another standout for me.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

     How True! How True! And the eBook was great. I am usually "an early adapter" but had to hold off replacing my original Treo and only upgrade to a newer version last year. Now that our MLS & lockboxes will finally be accessable via newer Smart Phones by September I am also rmore than eady for more change.

Now if I can get the daughter who is Mom to the teen who does text me to get messaging & use it, we could all be on board! Will be amplifying my Soci@l links in my "new year"... (My birthday is July 1) and I begin my 38th year in real estate in August.

Posted by Pat Argo, CRS (Keller Williams Realty of Brevard) over 10 years ago

Hi Pat, while a bit overwhelming, isn't all the new technology fun? Just think back to the days of printed books, and ringed binders where we'd update listing changes every week -- seems like another life ago.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

It makes you wonder what the world will be like in 5, 10, 15 years and beyond!  Exciting and scary!

Posted by Kathy Kenney, Realtor - Princeton & Central NJ Homes for Sale (Keller Williams, Princeton, NJ) over 10 years ago

You're right about the documents!  Faxing is so yesterday. I chuckle when agents tell me they have to run home to fax something, or they didn't get the fax because they have it hooked up.

Posted by Tamara Inzunza, Close-In Alexandria and Arlington Living (Realty One Group Capital) over 10 years ago

Hi Lottie ~ Too funny - I am printing off all 127 pages of it right now and then lo and behold here is your featured post. Can't wait to read it!

Liz

Posted by Elizabeth Bolton, Cambridge MA Realtor (RE/MAX Destiny Real Estate Cambridge, MA) over 10 years ago

The "younger generation" like your grandaughter are our clients and customers.  We have to be where they are, and they are in Facebook, Twitter, etc. and they don't use e-mail all that much anymore.  They don't drive around looking, they find what they want on the internet, and they know what they want.  It's just how it is, but I still have colleagues that think I waste my time on blogging.

Posted by Kate McQueen, Tailored service for your real estate needs! (Realty Associates Texas) over 10 years ago

H Liz -- too funny, indeed! I didn't know it was featured--thanks for cluing me in! It's a great read--one I'll re-read from time to time, I think.

Kate, you're right-- communicate with our clients in the manner in which they wish to communicate. Getting recommendations from peers, on Facebook, on Yelp, etc. is super-important to younger buyers. Thanks for stopping by.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Hi Lottie -- Great review.  This is the BEST book on social media I have read, bar none.  I'm reading it now for a 2nd time.

Posted by Chris Olsen, Broker Owner Cleveland Ohio Real Estate (Olsen Ziegler Realty) over 10 years ago

I downloaded the file to my hard drive so that I could read it off line any time!

Posted by Joni Bailey, Your Huntsville / Lake Livingston Area REALTOR® (101 Main St. Realty) over 10 years ago

Chris, that's how I felt about this book, too. It's on my computer to be re-read.

Joni-I'm with you. Thanks for your comments.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

I just started reading that book a week ago, too, Lottie. I've found it eye-opening and exciting... and what it reveals and suggests makes sense.

Posted by Bill Burchard, Broker, Realtor, Representing Buyers and Sellers (3B Realty: 951-347-3818, CA) over 10 years ago

I haven't finished reading this book yet, but it is exciting for those of us who love the Social Media opportunities.  

Posted by Catherine Ulrey, Equestrian and Acreage Property Specialist (Keller Williams Capital City) over 10 years ago

It is so true, that if we don't get on board the train now, that we will be left behind. Sadly, that's what will happen to many of my colleaues where I am, because they have not fully embraced the changes that are occuring. This was a very god read, Lottie, and worthy of the feature!

Posted by William James Walton Sr., Greater Waterbury Real Estate (WEICHERT, REALTORS® - Briotti Group) over 10 years ago
Raincamp pounded these new realities into us !!! Thanks for sharing !
Posted by Michael J. Perry, Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist (KW Elite ) over 10 years ago

Lottie this is a great little book. Makes it even more so given that AR gives it away for free.

Posted by Speed Equity® Mortgage Acceleration System, We help your clients Own Their Homes Years Sooner (Speed Equity®) over 10 years ago

Good morning, Bill -- if you're like I am, you probably have finished by now, and I bet you had lots of 'aha' moments.

Catherine, you're so right--many opportunities here for us.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Hi William -- I used to get frustrated when I couldn't get my colleagues interested and excited about alll the change that's here and more that's coming. Now I'm just grateful that I've found all of us on Active Rain who get it.

Michael, which Raincamp did you attend? I was in SF last December; it definitely was the best one-day seminar I had ever attended. Can't wait to get to a second one.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Hello Harj -- Welcome to Active Rain, and thanks for your comment and re-blog.

Soci@al is, indeed, a great little book -- the kind you can pick up and scan through over and over and have some phrase, idea, comment jump out at us just when we need to read it.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Looks like a great book with a lot of great ideas.  I tried to download it but I keep getting an error.  There must be a lot of people downloading right now.  I hope it helps everyone's business in some way.  Have a great day!

Posted by Terry Thomas Your Home Sold Guaranteed, Your Home Sold or I'll Buy It! (Joyce Thomas Team) over 10 years ago

Terry and Joyce -- don't give up; it's a worthy read. If you continue to have trouble, I'll see if I can email it to you.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

I was trying to download also but was having problems.

Posted by Cal Coakley (Senior Life Services ) over 10 years ago

Sorry, Cal, maybe the link is no longer live. Or, try again--perhaps the network was overloaded when you tried before. Do read it if you can--it's a good read.

Posted by Lottie Kendall, Helping make your real estate dreams a reality (Compass) over 10 years ago

Participate